We Need to Talk About Kevin

I don’t want to get behind, but I’m so busy and taking the time out to write this blog takes away time I could be spending at the festival.  On that note, I’m sorry if I can’t talk/skype with anyone while I’m here.  There is already so much going on that I can’t go to because of prior obligations or just too much going on and I have to choose.  Therefore, sitting on the internet talking about the experience does not seem appealing.  I can do that when I’m home, or you can read this blog.  I do take my iPod to work with me and there is wi-fi there, so I can facebook message if anyone has any questions!
The night before I won tickets to go see We Need to Talk About Kevin at the 8:30am press screening in the Lumiere Theatre.  The ten of us who got tickets met up in the lobby and took a shuttle to the festival.  I IMDBed the film before I went and asked around so I had an idea of what I was about to watch, but I really couldn’t find out much.  The film isn’t going to be released until September (for good reason, it will definitely be an Oscar contender, or at least, I hope) so I don’t even think there is a trailer yet, but if there is, definitely go watch it.  Not only was seeing a film in the Lumiere Theatre, probably the most prestigious theatre in the world, absolutely amazing, but the film was one of the best that I have seen in a long time.  The editing was exceptional and the use of motifs was very interesting: the play with the color red and the reflections in eyes.  The plot was not what I expected and the synopsis on IMDB is incorrect.  It’s nonlinear and actually challenges the viewers.  Nothing is in order, scenes are repeated, and there are more flashbacks to many different periods of time that it is almost hard to keep track.  Nothing in the dialogue is plot-driven and it relies on things that are not said, which is ironic because of the title.  The film relies so much on the performances which are nothing short of extraordinary.  Tilda Swinton was great, as always, and is apparently the front runner for the Best Actress prize here at the festival.  Ezra Miller stole the show though.  All three boys who played Kevin were fantastic, but Ezra, who played the oldest Kevin, blew my mind with his performance.  The film put me in a very weird mood afterward.  It’s sad, but not to a point where you would cry.  It is a pretty disturbing film and everyone I was with was in a solemn mood afterward.
I went to my 11-5 shift at the Pavilion.  It was another sunny and beautiful day on the beach.  Things picked up a little at the restaurant, but nothing too much.  I only had two tables the whole time.  Dana and I got to talk to our friend from the UK again and I really like forming a relationship with him because we just get to talk about films all day.  I met the director of the film Norman and he offered me tickets to the screening.  I asked him if he needed any help and after he said he would love help… if I lived in L.A., I told him I was graduating in a year and he gave me his card.  Awesome.  The best part of my day was not this though.  Later, I was clearing a table and began talking to the man sitting there.  I asked him if he needed any help at the festival… he said he would love some!  I’ll shorten this up. Basically he’s a distributer and is looking to buy films while he’s here.  Obviously he can’t see all of them so he’s assigning some to me.  After my work shift, he told me all about his background and then told me about his company.  He gave me the criteria that they look for when buying and distributing films.  He told me he would e-mail me with films he would love for me to see, I’d see them, and then we’d have a meeting to talk about them.  If he decides to buy the film, then I get to sit in on the negation meetings.  In return, he said he would offer me any kind of advice about the industry that I want.  Just in that one meeting, I felt like I learned so much.  I’m so grateful to be around these people who are so willing to help. Even though he is a distributer and we’re doing Acquisitions, he talked to me about Development, which is what I want to do.  He had me pitch an idea to him and I pitched the short that I wrote in Screenwriting.  He gave me advice on how to pitch it, what to say, and how to fix the film into a feature.  I would have never known any of this stuff before!  We then practiced the conversation that would happen after the pitch occurs.  I can’t even express how lucky I am.  This whole thing is incredible.
After I left the Pavilion and got back to my room, I didn’t have time to shower and head back to Cannes in order to attend a 7:30pm film.  I was thinking about either rushing Sleeping Beauty or going to see the new Gus Van Sant film called Restless. Rushing occurs at red carpets when you don’t have a ticket.  You stand in a line in your formal wear and wait until everyone with a ticket is in.  If there is still room in the theatre, they let in that many people from the line.  Usually almost everyone in the line makes it in.  The line is never terribly long because you have to be dressed in formal wear and you have to have the accreditation badge to get in this way. Since I didn’t want to see the Un Certain Regard 10:30pm film and the Lumiere 10:30 film was the premiere of We Need to Talk About Kevin, I didn’t know what to do.  Dana and Grace got tickets to that film and I wanted to go out with them after so I decided that I was just going to rush it and see it again.  All of the stars and the directors would be there so it would be a cool experience.  I got ready very quickly and headed down with them in my not so fancy formal wear (just in case I didn’t get in) to the festival.  I watched Dana and Grace walk in on the big screen and then asked one of the security guards where the rush line was.  Instead of telling me, he handed me a ticket that was left there by someone who couldn’t attend the film.  YES!  I made my red carpet entrance and headed into the theatre. I love the experience of seeing a premiere film in a large theatre.  It becomes so much of an art form that way instead of a hobby or activity on a Friday night. Everyone is dressed up.  The fashion police stop men without bow ties and black ties.  Brown shoes aren’t even allowed.  Once the theatre is full, the cast shows up and we get to watch their entrance into the theatre from their cars.  Everyone is clapping and everyone is excited.  Once they are seated, the film begins.  No one lounges in their chair and no one talks.  When the film ends, everyone claps.  This film in particular got a standing ovation.  The screen switches to the cast and director for reactions.  Ezra and Lynne Ramsay, the director, were very emotional and it was so hard not to think throughout the whole film that the people who created this art are in the same room as you watching it themselves.  You can almost feel the tension throughout and the relief and excitement afterward.  While you stand and clap, you also become very proud of their accomplishment.  I absolutely loved the experience and I can’t wait for more.
I found Dana and Grace outside and found out that their seats were only three rows ahead of the cast and director’s.  SO LUCKY!  They got fantastic photos of them and actually got to see their emotions.  Because they were in such a weird mood, we decided not to go out.  It was 1am and we didn’t want to spend money on drinks plus we were hungry, so we went to a restaurant, shared a salad and mushroom ravioli, and drank a glass of wine.  After the DELIOUS meal, we headed back to our hotel.  It was already 2:30am and going out seemed pointless.  I was beat when I got back and went straight to sleep… because I had my first 7:30 shift tomorrow morning.  I had such an incredible day at the festival and I feel like the luckiest girl in the world.  I already feel like I’ve accomplished so much and it has only been two days… another ten to go.  I can only imagine what’s in store…
246949_1740441037107_1319241_n
Leave a Reply

