AmPav Queer Party

I JUST HAD THE MOST AMAZING NIGHT OF MY LIFE! Well, so far.  Before I get into my night, let’s start with my day, which was also fantastic.  I worked my first morning shift, which was fine.  I arrived late, but they didn’t even notice.  The shift went by so fast.  For the first two hours, hardly anyone is there and for the rest of it, I was very busy.  I spent most of my day catching up on the trade presses, mostly to hear the buzz about We Need to Talk About Kevin and Sleeping Beauty. I also got to speak with many other interns about both the films.  We Need to Talk About Kevin was an absolute hit among the interns, but it also has a 100% rating on Rotten Tomatoes, which is so great and well deserved.  Sleeping Beauty, on the other hand, did not do as well.  50% on Rotten Tomatoes.  The interns that saw it yesterday were not impressed.  They said not a lot of people even went to the premiere because of such bad word of mouth from the press screenings earlier that day.  It was slow, boring, and the content didn’t relate.
During my break, I found out that the Glee cast is supposedly coming to the Pavilion tomorrow.  One of my bosses told me and he didn’t even seem excited. He also told me to keep it on the DL.  Oh well.  Also, lots of people kept talking about the guest list for tonight’s party at the Pavilion, the Queer Party.  Jason Mraz is attending and Lady Gaga was invited, but no one knows who is actually going to show.  I met a few more people at work and received some business cards. An important one is a distribution company who is trying to start a production side, which is great for me since I need a job in a few months, so they took my card and told me to keep in contact… I lost the card.  Shit.  Cool, right?  I’ll just go to their booth tomorrow.
After work, I tried to get tickets for Red State, a market screening for Kevin Smith’s new film, but they were saving the rest of them for buyers.  The people I knew who had tickets already ended up not even getting in because the theater only held 36 seats.  I went into the Majestic hotel to check out the companies in there.  Just as I was about to go in the elevator, I ran into the two men from the Distribution company I’m helping out.  We sat down and talked about two films they wanted me to see.  One is with 50 Cent and Ray Liotta and the other is actually a DVD copy so they gave it to me to watch.  They told me what to look out for in both films and how to base my decision.  They were actually waiting to have a meeting with a production company to buy their film.  I GOT TO SIT IN ON IT! During the meeting, I saw Harvey Weinstein.  No big deal.  In case you don’t know, Harvey Weinstein is one of the most important people in the film industry.  He does everything right.  Everything.  He is the best person to know.  However, he is known to be the biggest and most arrogant people in the film industry. Lucky for him, it doesn’t stop anyone from working with him.  I was trying not to pee my pants with excitement because I was introduced as a colleague, but really?! Harvey Weinstein on Day 3?! Amazing.  As if things couldn’t get any better, I got my first party invite for the 17th.  I’m very excited and welcome to bring anyone I’d like.  Sounds great to me!  It’s from 7 to 10, and I have to work until 8, so I’ll just go afterward.
After the meeting, we debriefed and I was brought up to speed.  Afterward, he told me about which companies I should apply for and why.  He also told me how the work ethic is and what each company looks for.  He also said November is the perfect time to start looking and sending out those emails and searching for postings.  He has been fantastic and has given me some awesome advice.
I went back to the La Bocca after the meeting and stopped at two grocery stores on the way back to the hotel.  I got some strawberries, a baguette, pasta, sauce, and a bottle of wine all for under 8 euro.  So excellent.  I cooked myself dinner and watched the film.  I have my own thoughts about it, but I don’t think I should share since it’s for the company I’m helping out.  I will say that it is not the best of films… I showered and finally had the opportunity to take a nap!  I set my alarm to sleep for twenty minutes and didn’t hear it so I ended up sleeping for an hour and forty-five minutes.  Whoops.  I got ready and arrived at the party at midnight.  Now here for the good stuff…
I immediately found Dana and Grace.  We got a drink and made our way through the party.  I found Jay, a guy that works my shift and we went over to a quieter side to the party so we could hear each other.  I look over at one of my roommates for a second across the party and she’s giving me the eyes.  They keep darting over to the right of me.  I turn and Ezra Miller is standing literally right next to me.  I tried to remain professional, but I’m almost positive I had a heart attack.  Jay and I wanted to talk to him, but he didn’t know how or what to do.  He walked away, but I found Nicole, one of my roommates and we introduced ourselves to him and talked to him for about ten minutes.  We just talked about music.  We wanted to steer clear of talking about the film, seeing as he was hearing it from everyone.  After we talked, we got a picture.  Of course, mine came out blurry.  Ugh whatever.  I found Dana again and we joined Jay and another guy and just started dancing goofy-like, you know the typical Gabby moves.  Pointing fingers, hands in the air, you know, the usual.  And what happens?  Ezra comes up to us and starts dancing with us for two songs!  It was so much fun and his goofy dance moves were most excellent.  Probably not as fabulous as mine, but it was really fun and I couldn’t believe it happened.  Despite the fact that I watched him commit a massacre at a high school on screen two times yesterday, I was contemplating asking him if he wanted to come back to the Maeva, our hotel, and hang out in my bunk bed… but I didn’t think he’d be up for it.  Whatever.  He smoked like a chimney and is from New Jersey, but his goofy dance moves sold me.  I think I found myself a winner.  French husband/one-night stand (same thing?) goal.
Oh, maybe I forgot to mention that John C. Reilly was also at the party.  He was hiding in the corner and I heard, denying people of conversation and pictures.  I was not too interested, seeing as Ezra stole the show in We Need to Talk About Kevin.  We left shortly after all of this since the party was shutting down.  On our way out, I was stopped by the distribution company who offered to take me out drinking for the rest of the night.  You know, get us in anywhere.  Dana and I have to work in the morning, so hopefully we can tomorrow night! I came back to my room to type this up so I didn’t forget a detail of this experience.  Nicole got back and the first thing we asked ourselves was… Did tonight just happen?  She hasn’t even seen the film and she’s psyched, mostly because he was so nice.  What is really crazy to think about is the fact that it’s only been three days and we have eight more days of the festival to go…  Life has officially become fake.
253003_1740442357140_5449880_n
Leave a Reply

