Failed Attempts

251042_1740450357340_380939_n
After such a rough night, I was hoping to make up for it by catching some films before my 4-10 shift.  I love this shift because I have all day.  The film I was most looking forward to seeing was The Artist.  I think it is everything I love about cinema in one film.  It’s silent, black-and-white, and French.  It’s about the transition from silent to sound film.  Where can you find a film like that anymore?!  I understand that only film people will appreciate something like this.  Coming from someone who hasn’t seen a fantastic film in years and spends their time watching Casablanca, The Philadelphia Story, and Singin’ in the Rain, it’s about time.  Let’s bring cinema back to the classics.  Slow stories, grey tones, interesting content.  Thank God.  Now after I spent all this time raving about this film… I didn’t get to see it.  I tried to get into the 10am screening, but only buyers could get into it.  Even though the film is in competition, for some screenings, buyers have priority, and since the theaters are so small, no one else can get into them.  Disappointed, my roommate and I went back to the hotel to go back to sleep some more.  We were exhausted.
Right when I was about to go to sleep, I checked my e-mail and the distributor e-mailed me and wanted to meet one last time before he left the festival.  We agreed to meet at noon which meant that I would have to be showered and ready to go for work before I made my way back to the festival.  I rushed over to the Palais, checked my e-mail, and discovered that he hadn’t e-mailed me back with a place to meet.  Already upset that I could have been sleeping or at the beach, I decided to get some lunch at the festival.  I picked up a Nutella crepe and strawberries and went to the beach in Cannes.  The weather has been fantastic during the day, but it’s really cold at night.  Since I worked the night shift, I had to wear pants, so I was sweating so much at the beach.  Either way, it was still a nice, relaxing break.
I tried to go see another film at 2pm, so I made my way to the Market where it was being shown.  It’s a film called Michael from Austria that’s been getting pretty good reviews.  Of course, I didn’t get into this film either which just added onto my frustration.  I felt like I wasted my entire day.  With not enough time to watch another film and nothing else to really do in Cannes, I went to the Pavilion and took a nap in the student section. Afterward, I went into work.  I met a really interesting man while I was serving.  He is a professor at USC, but he also is a producer.  He produced the U2: 3D concert film among others.  We talked for a long time and he gave me some great advice. It’s amazing how much people are willing to share their insight in this business. They give out so many ideas on how to get started and which companies to work for.  I’ve been so relieved to hear that there are many development jobs in New York, which means I might not have to move out to LA, which is great news.  Either way, I think I’m going to plan a trip to either LA or New York for fall break to scope things out at least.  I also had an epiphany.  I really want to work in children’s film or television.  Apparently working with kids is actually great experience to have in that industry, which means summer camp wasn’t a waste!  Nickelodeon’s development and programming is also in New York as well, which is great to hear. The professor was telling me all about it.
Nicole, Tara, Emily, and I all wanted to try to go out again, but we were all on the late shift.  Emily ended up getting tickets to House of Tolerance, the 10:30 red carpet premiere.  We found a meeting place so that Tara, Nicole, and I could meet with her in Cannes.  Not being able to use a cell phone is the worst thing in the world and it seems impossible to make plans and keep them without one.  We got back to our hotel at 11:00, but we wanted to leave to go back out at midnight. Nicole wasn’t ready and when Tara and I told her to leave her computer to get ready, she still took a long time to get ready to go out.  When I went to get Nicole, we lost Tara when we came back down to the lobby.  Apparently she got sick of waiting and went to bed.  Emily, on the other hand, was waiting for about 45 minutes for us in Cannes and eventually went back to the hotel while Nicole was still getting ready.  It was the most frustrating night and I’m starting to realize why I like doing things by myself… because they actually get done and you don’t have to rely on other people.  I was very upset and went to bed at around 1:30am, if I would have known this was going to happen, I would have been in bed two hours sooner. Another ridiculous night.  Lesson learned: smaller groups.
This was by far my worst day in Cannes… it can only go up from here… right?
Leave a Reply

