Peter Fonda, Jason Mraz, Faye Dunaway, Stellen Skarsgard, Ryan Gosling

I decided to take my time in the morning because I have been so tired of trying to see films and not getting into them.  When I make plans to see them, I make sure I have nothing to do for the next two hours, so when it doesn’t work out, I have all of this time to spare with nothing to do.  I spent some time on the internet in the morning catching up on things and then made my way into Cannes for a 12pm showing of The Artist.  This showing was held in a 250 seat theater, so I had to get in, right?!  Wrong.  Only buyers and press got in again!  First of all, there are not that many buyers.  Second of all, this film has been showing for days, why are you just seeing this movie for your article NOW?!  On my way back to the International Village, I stopped and got a salad from a street vendor. During the mere two minutes when I was ordering, I forgot what thon meant and figured everything would be fine.  Of course, it was tuna… which I haven’t eaten since I was a kid because I didn’t like it.  I thought, well I like tuna on my sushi, maybe this will be okay.  It wasn’t.  Oh well.  My French sucks.  I’m over it.  I’ll start learning their language when they stop being rude to me when I try, which seems to be the case.
I was fine with not being able to see The Artist this time, out of the MANY I’ve tried, because the Pavilion was hosting a panel with Jason Mraz and Peter Fonda about their new documentary called The Big Fix.  Not a lot of people were that excited for it, but Peter Fonda, really?!  I feel as if I’m one of the few film majors in the world that actually appreciates classic film.  It’s so unreal to me that so many of the interns in the program don’t even care all that much about film history.  Every time I ask them what their favorite films are they rant out a bunch of artsy films that I’ve never heard of.  Cool.  I like Titanic.  It won 11 Oscars and is one of the top grossing films of all time.  That’s not good enough for you?  Anyways, the panel was not that interesting so after I caught my glimpse of them and snapped a few photos of Peter Fonda and the attractive Jason Mraz, I went into work for my 2-8 shift.  However, Jason Mraz and Peter Fonda’s panel was just the beginning of an incredible day…
249649_1740477678023_4534101_n
A very familiar face walked into the Pavilion and sat herself down in the VIP section.  I could not put my finger on it and a lot of people thought it was Jane Fonda, except I saw her the other day and she looked a lot younger than this woman.  All of a sudden, an order came in for Faye Dunaway.  FAYE DUNAWAY! Only the most beautiful actress of all time.  She’s on the poster for the Festival this year.  She played Bonnie in Bonnie & Clyde.  She’s Faye Dunaway.  FAYE DUNAWAY!  AH!  This did not seem real.  This just defines the fake life I’m living.  Seriously… FAYE DUNAWAY!  I went up to the girls working the VIP section so I could get a closer look.  The girls, who are in the hospitality program, didn’t even care, and just shrugged and said yes when I asked if they got to talk to her.  WHAT?!  Now that really upsets me.  I’m having a heart attack all over the pavilion and they don’t even care!  It’s FAYE DUNAWAY!  After pretty much stalking her as I pretended to check on tables for an hour, we learned that apparently she was in a good mood (a rare case for the most beautiful actress in the world) and we were allowed to take her picture.  I didn’t have time to get my real camera so I only snapped a few on my iPod.  Who cares?!  She was so cute and actually nice when we got to see her.  There were only few of us who were snapping photos because, again, no one really cares about classic cinema.
248447_1750283883172_6236330_n
As if this day couldn’t have gotten any better, Stellan Skarsgard came into the Pavilion for a roundtable.  I was working so I couldn’t sit in, but I got to check in and watch from the door, which was good enough for me.  I had no idea who he was so I had no interest in even going, but when I saw him I instantly recognized him.  I think he is most famous for True Blood, but he was also in Pirates of the Caribbean 2: Dead Man’s Chest and he played Bootstrap Bill, Will Turner’s father. It was cool that we got to see him, but our next visitor might be one of the coolest.
253714_1740480478093_7021522_n
So remember when I said I took Ryan Gosling’s order and it was a struggle, blah blah blah.  We all had a mishap, possibly due to our lack of sleep, or slaving away in the hot sun, or the amount of films we’ve seen, but all of us at the Pavilion were mistaken.  Ryan has a legit twin.  Well, not legit, but it is absolutely insane how much they look alike.  That “Ryan” is now considered to be the fake Ryan.  The REAL Ryan came into the Pavilion for a panel for his new film Drive.  I stared him for a decent amount of time when he was lounging around before his panel and it is absolutely unfair how good looking this man is.  If you think he’s good looking in film, you should see him in person.  It is absolutely disgusting how attractive he is. How is it even possible?  Suddenly, the fake Ryan did not look so hot, but the resemblance was still there and it creeped me out when I saw them right by each other.  For his panel, they raffled off ten seats in the conference room for students to attend, since these are more geared towards industry professionals.  You had to be present for the raffle to accept your seat though.  Sadly, I did not get picked, but Emily did and she got some great photos for me.  I stayed outside and watched the interview on the television instead.  I definitely got my Ryan.
252254_1740483038157_1284294_n
Work ended at 8 and I wanted to see Melancholia at 10:30 for the red carpet premiere.  I rushed back to the room, changed, and then came right back to Cannes.  I got into the rush line and got to see the stars come out.  Unfortunately, no one from the rush line got into the premiere.  People with tickets didn’t even get in.  These premieres are starting to get insane and I don’t understand why because I thought people were heading home.  Guess not?  I found a few interns waiting in the line and we all decided to go to the Petit Majestic, a bar, instead.  We walked all the way over there and got a table.  I order some wine while everyone else drank beer and we all just talked film.  We got onto the subject of Distribution and how studios make money off of their films and what not.  I’m not going to go into any detail here, but I contributed so much into the conversation and gave a large amount of historical background information.  One of the interns turns to me and says, “You took a really good film history course.”  Or I just really like and appreciate film history?  But then again, it’s true.  I did learn a lot in that class.  It’s interesting to hear about other school’s film programs.  Some have a focus, some don’t.  Some are in the art department (like Denison’s), some are in communications.  Some are even in the business school.  Some just learn production, some learn both production and studies.  Some learn TV and film, some just film.  Denison’s program seems very unique to a lot of others I’ve heard about, but I don’t know if that’s necessarily a good thing or not.
252249_1740485638222_7888324_n
After I had my glass of wine, I was too tired to stay out, so I just took a cab back to the hotel and headed to bed.  What a fantastic day!  I really really don’t want this experience to end, and it’s sad that it’s nearing.
Leave a Reply

