Summary of my Experience at TFF

317404_1957293418281_2098721642_n

With Telluride being a shorter festival, I was not able to keep up with  my blog as often as I would have liked.  Although I didn’t write step-by-step what my day was like at Telluride.  I do want to share some amazing moments that made Telluride so unique, and honestly my favorite festival.

Meeting Jennifer Garner.  Being able to talk with her about the Theatre department at Denison and my professor, who she is friends with, was an incredible experience.  Within an hour of meeting Jennifer Garner, I was able to catch a glimpse of Tilda Swinton and George Clooney.  Phillip, Cole, and I snuck out of our scheduled screening of A Trip to the Moon to check out Butter, starring Jennifer Garner, Ty Burrell and Olivia Wilde.  It was not the best choice, as Butter was not so good.

308054_1949721989000_6250708_n

It wouldn’t be a Telluride Highlights page if I didn’t mention seeing George Clooney in the flesh. Maybe one of the most attractive men I’ve ever seen.

296616_1949719308933_5527544_n

I purposely slept through a Russian silent film assigned to us.  The film festival was exhausting and I couldn’t take it anymore.  However, I accidentally slept through A Dangerous Method… because it was that bad.  We talked with the screenwriter the following day.  I had nothing to say.

The films I didn’t sleep through? The Forgiveness of Blood. I also got to meet the director, Joshua Marston. We was probably one of the most intelligent people I’ve ever met. He is  most famous for his film Maria, Full of Grace

321462_1957293658287_2085184957_n

I didn’t sleep through Herzog’s Into the Abyss, which I loved. I definitely didn’t sleep through Le Havre, which besides The Artist and We Need to Talk About Kevin, was my favorite film at Telluride. We saw an AWESOME short before it as well called Rodeo. It was 25 minutes long, but was so well done, it felt like 5 minutes.  I loved it.  I, of course, didn’t sleep through We Need to Talk About Kevin.  However, the worst experience of the festival was our Symposium with Ramsay and Swinton.  I was SO EXCITED to ask them a question, but I wasn’t called on.  To be honest, I was on the verge of tears when it happened.  I was so looking forward to it, and I hadn’t asked a single question the entire festival… and she called on people who have asked SO MANY.  The worst part about it was that I told her how excited I was to be able to speak with them about the film.  Oh well.  And lastly, I did not sleep through Shame, which was another favorite. It was terribly sad and difficult to watch, but I loved it.

All in all, Telluride was an amazing experience. I got to see some great films and learn from some talented individuals.  I can’t wait to return to the festival as a volunteer and reunite with my friends, Cole and Phillip!

300775_10150804729360257_469868209_n

Leave a Reply

