Afternoon Delight, The Spectacular Now, Very Good Girls

I was the sleepiest pup when my alarm went off at 6:30am. I planned on getting over to the Prospector Theater at 7:30am for the 8:30am showing of Afternoon Delight. I decided to sleep in instead; however, right before I went back to sleep, I checked some reviews online. Everyone was saying good things and I knew I’d regret it so I thought I’d try. I didn’t get there at 7:30am, more like 8:00am, but they still had volunteer tickets available. I got lucky! Afternoon Delight is yet another film by a female filmmaker, starring Kathryn Hahn in her first leading role, Juno Temple, Josh Radnor, and Jane Lynch. All of which came to the Q&A. “In this sexy, dark comedy, a lost L.A. housewife puts her idyllic hipster life in jeopardy when she tries to rescue a stripper by taking her in as a live-in nanny.” Who doesn’t enjoy a nice prostitute/stripper comedy at 8:30am? Kathryn Hahn was phenomenal as the lead actress and Juno Temple was also lovable, but troubled. The film was one of my favorites in its category, US Dramatic Competition.

13090_4405541662957_166832914_n

Immediately following, I walked over to the Eccles Theater to pick up my volunteer ticket for The Spectacular Now, a film written by the same screenwriters who did 500 Days of Summer… so of course I was excited to see this film. “Sutter is a high school senior who lives for the moment; Aimee is the introvert he attempts to ‘save.’ As their relationship deepens, the lines between right and wrong, friendship and love, and saving and corrupting become inextricably blurred.”  Miles Teller (you might know him as Willard in the new Footloose) plays Sutter, the lead. He does a phenomenal job in this film playing an alcoholic high school student. Although he’s popular and friendly, he isn’t very smart and struggles with school. He meets Aimee, played by Shailene Woodley, who is nerdy, but still a nice girl and agrees to help him pass geometry. The recently dumped Sutter begins to date Aimee to make his ex-girlfriend jealous, but finds himself falling in love anyway. As does Aimee. “There’s a lot of booze in this film,” says the director James Ponsoldt as he introduces the film. He is right. Miles was the only lead who attended the Q&A, but luckily there was a lot of crew.  The film was also one of my favorites… probably right behind The Way, Way Back.

11323_4405544703033_1660114920_n

I had a break before my next film, so I went to Main Street to explore. I got myself an ICED chai because 30 degrees feels like summer right now. I spent some time in the filmmaker lounge, taking some pictures, and looking at film memorabilia in the Chase Sapphire Lounge, like Napoleon Dynamite and Little Miss Sunshine.

photo (11) 529474_4405746428076_139749132_n

Before I got back to the Eccles Theater, I picked up a delicious crepe from Java Cow for dinner. I took the shuttle back over to Eccles and picked up my volunteer ticket to Very Good Girls, a film directed by Maggie Gyllenhaal’s mother, Naomi Fomer, starring Dakota Fanning and Elizabeth Olsen. “In the long, half-naked days of a New York summer, two girls on the brink of becoming women fall for the same guy and find that life isn’t as simple or safe as they had thought.” Basically, they make a pact to lose their virginity. Not in an American Pie sort of way though. It’s not that kind of movie. They just want to feel like mature women before they go away to school. The film is something that any girl who’s had a best friend can relate to: scared to keep secrets, scared to tell secrets, open communication, jealously, but also supportive. It’s about being torn. Elizabeth Olsen is amazing as always. She had an exam and was flying out that night, but didn’t make it to the premiere, but Dakota Fanning was at the Q&A and she’s the cutest girl in the world. Jake Gyllenhaal was also there and Jamie Lee Curtis too (Fomer referred to her as her best friend).

11830_4405746668082_758903577_n 72938_4405546543079_1531239124_n

I made a terrible decision after Very Good Girls. I thought I had some time to pick up my festival poster and diddy daddle in the lobby, so that’s what I did. By the time I got outside to the volunteer line for Lovelace, it was so long. They only give out 100 volunteer tickets. I got in line anyway. A girl came into the line behind me and was worried as well, so she counted the line twice. She said we were in the 90s, but we’re good. Turns out, we weren’t. I was 102 in line, so I barely missed getting a ticket. This also means that people were cutting in line, or leaving line and coming back. It’s just annoying when fellow volunteers are not fair. Just as I was walking away from the theater, Amanda Seyfried was coming in. I always thought she was pretty, but she is STUNNINGLY BEAUTIFUL IN PERSON. My jaw dropped and there was no way I could have gotten a picture of her. Disappointed, I went back to Liz’s apartment, had a glass of wine and some snacks and called it a night. I had to get up early again to take the bus back to Salt Lake City.

One thought on “Afternoon Delight, The Spectacular Now, Very Good Girls

  1. Pingback: Who Doesn’t Need A Live-In Stripper? First Trailer For Afternoon Delight (2013) « Durnmoose Movie Musings

Leave a Reply

