A.C.O.D., Kill Your Darlings

One of my supervisors offered to drive me into Park City this morning for my day off. It was snowing though and apparently even though the residents of Salt Lake live in the mountains, they have no idea how to drive in snow. I wanted to see Paul Rudd and Emile Hirsch’s Prince Avalanche, but I missed the 8:30am showing. I got over to the Eccles Theater at 9:10am, but there were still seats for A.C.O.D. Adam Scott, Amy Poehler, Jessica Alba, Catherine O’Hara, and Richard Jenkins star in this film: “Carter is a well-adjusted adult child of divorce. Or so he thinks. When he discovers he was part of a divorce study as a child, it wreaks havoc on his family and forces him to face his chaotic past.” Stuart Zicherman was the director, and he actually sat in front of me for the screening of Very Good Girls. Adam Scott’s character has a younger brother who is getting married. His younger brother is played by Little Dwight from this season of The Office. He wants to help his brother by helping his divorced parents handle being in the same room together, and he finds out that the “therapist” he was seeing as a child was not a therapist at all and was really doing research on children of divorce. Finding out what he’s going through now, she decides she wants to revisit her past studies and call her book A.C.O.D., Adult Children of Divorce. The film was funny, but nothing spectacular. The ending made the film though. Not because it was funny, but because it was so ambiguous in a good way. Only the director came on stage for the Q&A, which was a HUGE disappointment. The cast must have been hungover. I got over to Main Street to try to catch Austenland, but there were no volunteer tickets and the waitlist line was too long. I was pretty upset I missed it so I just used one of my food vouchers and got some Mexican food at the Blue Iguana. I walked up and down Main Street and tried to enjoy my last day in Park City. I picked up a Nutella and banana crepe from Java Cow with my last voucher and went over to Liz’s store to say bye and thank you.

379666_4405546263072_424093072_n photo (10)

I was planning on seeing MANHUNT, the documentary version of Zero Dark Thirty, but a Press & Industry screening of Kill Your Darlings came up. For P&I screenings, volunteer tickets are not given out. You simply wait in a line and if there is space available after the P&Is go into the theater, we are able to attend. I completely wrote off Kill Your Darlings because it didn’t work with my schedule, but I was excited to see this film. So unexpected. It stars Daniel Radcliffe, Dane DeHaan, Ben Foster, Michael C. Hall, Jack Huston, and Elizabeth Olsen. The biggest difference with P&I screenings is that there isn’t an introduction or Q&A, but that’s okay. It was a slow day, so all of the volunteers made it into the theater no problem. “An untold story of murder that brought together a young Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, and William Burroughs at Columbia University in 1944, providing the spark that lead to the birth of an entire generation–their Beat revolution.” Unfortunately, I did not enjoy it. Probably the first film that I felt terribly bored during. I wish I would have seen MANHUNT. I’m sure that I would have been more interesting. I caught the bus to SLC afterward.  No issues this time. The bus arrived at Salt Lake Central Station and I was not making the mistake of walking to my hostel again. I waited for cabs to arrive, but nothing was happening, so I tried calling. Cab companies are so hard to get a hold of. The first one I called said it would take 2 hours. 2 HOURS? I asked why and she said the roads were slick. SLICK?! The roads were wet. I don’t understand why no one knows how to drive over here. I called another and they said 45 minutes. I said fine, but as I was hanging up a cab pulled up to the station. I got his attention and got back to the hostel. I considered going to Before Midnight at the Library tonight for the 9:00pm show. I’ve already seen 17 films though and I’m exhausted. I’ve been getting up early and going to bed late everyday and it’s time to unwind. I was able to catch up on my blog tonight, cook myself some dinner, and watch some television. I can’t wait to go to bed early and sleep in tomorrow. My shift isn’t until the evening and there are no films in Salt Lake during the day, but there is one I want to see at midnight, so I need all of the rest I can get. I’m having a great time seeing films, but I think it’s time to go home soon. I’m tired and almost running out of films to see. Well, films that I want to see that is. There are a few that I haven’t seen and won’t be able to: Escape From Tomorrow, Austenland, Twenty Feet From Stardom, Crystal Fairy, Fruitvale, Ain’t Them Bodies Saints, After Tiller, MANHUNT, Life According to Sam, Valentine Road, Don Jon’s Addiction, The East, jOBS (tickets for that are going for $300, by the way), Prince Avalanche, Two Mothers, Sound City, and Ass Backwards. Wow, I guess there is more than I thought.

529300_4405550023166_1234752536_n

Leave a Reply

