Last Day

photo (5)

My last day at Sundance has arrived! My shift started at 10:30am so I got myself out of bed and headed up to the Library! The most unfortunate thing about the morning shift is that when you finish your work, you still have to stay until the night shift arrives. I’ve been spoiled with the night shift because we get to leave right after we finish our work, which is about 2 hours sooner than we’re scheduled. Someone must have heard my prayers because they brought us fruit and veggies as our snack today! I’ve been so sick of all of the junk food and pasta I’ve been eating! I can’t wait to eat a salad! After my shift, I went over to the Broadway to see a documentary in the Doc Premieres category: Which Way is the Front Line From Here? The Life and Time of Tim Hetherington. My first big tearjerker of the festival. “Shortly after the release of his documentary Restrepo, photographer Tim Hetherington was killed in Libya. Colleague Sebastian Junger traces Hetherington’s work across the world’s battlefields to reveal how he transcended the boundaries of image making to become a luminary in his profession.” I can’t really say much more about that isn’t already said in the summary, other than it was REAL sad. I enjoyed it immensely and I was glad to have caught this on my last day. I can’t wait to go home and watch Restrepo now. I made it back over to the Library with only one volunteer ticket left for Breathe In. I MADE IT TO MY LAST SUNDANCE FILM. Breathe In is by the same filmmakers that brought us Like Crazy, the winner of the US Dramatic Grand Jury prize in 2011 and a film I very much love. Felicity Jones is also in this film. As is Amy Ryan. “When a foreign-exchange student arrives in a small upstate New York town, she challenges the dynamics of her host family’s relationships and alters their lives forever.” So duh, she has an affair with the dad, who is also one of her teachers at the high school. Not even an affair though. They barely make out. It’s more of an emotional affair. For it being my 21st film and my mental state, I actually enjoyed the film. I originally planned seeing the film kink, another James Franco film, at midnight, but there was no way. I went back to my hostel, packed everything up and went straight to sleep, excited to wake up and head home to Ohio!

photo (4)

Leave a Reply

