Telluride Film Festival, 8/27 & 8/28

Image

I have arrived at my favorite film festival, and I can confidently make that statement. It is my fourth film festival of the year and I’m excited to dive into another pool of independent features. Telluride required quite a bit of planning and a few vacation days, but I know that I made the right decision by volunteering for the Labor Day fest. You know when you have those “once in a lifetime” experiences? I thought that the Student Symposium was one of those moments. When I was an undergrad Cinema student entering my final year, I never would have guessed that I would be able to return. Here I am, though, with two of my favorite people in the world: Phillip and Cole. It’s been two years since our brief time together, but we managed to pull together an awesome trip! Now all in the workforce, we couldn’t wait to enjoy a vacation with friends and film, and in such a beautiful place. The happiest place on Earth? Possibly?

Phillip and I arrived at the Denver airport close to midnight on Tuesday. We stayed in a hotel and waited the arrival of our dear friend Cole to come save us from the empty and boring Aurora, CO. In the meantime, of course, a Brooklyn man and an LA woman managed to find a bar and were shocked at the drink prices. For us, a $2.50 draft beer and $5 margarita was unheard of!

Image

Post margaritas…

This margarita? Only $5.

This margarita? Only $5.

 With the altitude, we might have not been our freshest at 4pm when Cole came to pick us up. The three of us drove the six hour journey through beautiful mountains and canyons to Telluride. We arrived around 11pm, missing the Volunteer screening. After settling into our condo, it was time for bed. Phillip and I had a shift at 7am.

So excited to be in this beautiful place!

So excited to be in this beautiful place!

Leave a Reply

