2014 Oscar Predictions — The Technical Ones

I am submitting defeat to the Academy. It is 1:28pm on Oscar Sunday. Unfortunately, the Oscars begin at 5:30pm in Los Angeles and that does not give me much time to prepare for Oscar festivities, including but not limited to: baking cookies, baking Nutella treats, pouring salsa into a bowl, popping popcorn, chilling champagne, slow cooking pork, and getting ready for an Oscars After Party event. As disappointed as I am that I will be missing some of the ceremony to drive from Santa Monica to Beverly Hills, I am beyond thrilled that I am going to find out this year’s Best Picture while in the same room as James Cameron. Yes, I just said that.

Back to the films, this year I watched 41 out of 57. The categories in which I am lacking the most are Animated Feature, Feature Documentary, Foreign Language, and Visual Effects. Visual Effects, no surprise there. Here is a list of the films I missed this year: Despicable Me 2, Ernest & Celestine, The Wind Rises, The Invisible Woman, The Act of Killing, Dirty Wars, The Square, The Broken Circle Breakdown, The Great Beauty, The Missing Picture, Omar, The Book Thief, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Iron Man 3, and Star Trek Into Darkness.

I did my best to at least watch the films that are favored to win. The only exception being The Great Beauty for Foreign Language and the chance that The Act of Killing takes Documentary from 20 Feet from Stardom. I always feel uncomfortable giving my opinions on categories in which I have not seen all 5 nominations, but bare with me.

Animated Feature Film
The Croods; Despicable Me 2; Ernest & Celestine; Frozen; The Wind Rises
Should Win: I have only seen two of these films. I am disappointed in myself because I really do want to see Ernest & Celestine and The Wind Rises, but I did not get to them before Oscar night. I, obviously, will be pulling for Disney… not because I love Disney so much, but because they actually deserve this one. So Frozen. Fun fact! Disney has actually NEVER won this category. It is about fucking time (excuse my language, but that was necessary). I did, however, have an issue with the nominations. I totally understand that Monsters University was far from Pixar’s best, but that does not discount it as a well-made feature. I think that the Academy holds Pixar to a very high standard and that is why it did not get a nomination. However, it surprises me that you can place that film next to something like The Croods and believe the latter to be the superior film. No no no.
Will Win: Disney will win this award for the very first time. Almost seems like a crime, doesn’t it’? Frozen.

Cinematography
The Grandmaster; Gravity; Inside Llewyn Davis; Nebraska; Prisoners
Should Win: 
So, I haven’t technically watched all of these. I’ve seen four of them and then enough of The Grandmaster to count. As much as I hate Gravity, I have said that I am not going to discount their technical advances. They used a single light source. Gravity actually deserves this one.
Will Win: Gravity… and then you’ll notice a pattern.

Costume Design
American Hustle; The Grandmaster; The Great Gatsby; The Invisible Woman; 12 Years a Slave
Should Win: I am going back and forth between two: American Hustle and The Great Gatsby. The Great Gatsby has BEAUTIFUL costumes, but I loved the outfits in American Hustle so much and I want them for myself.
Will Win: This really is tough to say. I think this is American Hustle only chance of winning an award, so I want to give it to American Hustle. The Great Gatsby might pull through with this one though. I’m going to predict American Hustle though. Stick with the bracket I turned in on Friday.

Documentary Feature
The Act of Killing; Cutie & the Boxer; Dirty Wars; The Square; 20 Feet from Stardom
Should Win: I’ve only seen 2 of these (Cutie & the Boxer and 20 Feet from Stardom). I was disappointed with the nominations, but out of these two, I’d pick 20 Feet from Stardom. Cutie & the Boxer was quite boring.
Will Win: This one is between The Act of Killing and 20 Feet from Stardom. Because of the change in the way we now vote for this category, winners have veered toward the mainstream side and therefore, I think 20 Feet from Stardom is going to take it.

Film Editing
American Hustle; Captain Phillips; Dallas Buyers Club; Gravity; 12 Years a Slave
Should Win: Part of me doesn’t want Gravity to win this category. I thoroughly enjoyed the editing in Dallas Buyers Club and Captain Phillips. I’m going to pick Dallas Buyers Club as my choice for editing.
Will Win: Gravity.

Foreign Language Film
The Broken Circle Breakdown; The Great Beauty; The Hunt; The Missing Picture; Omar
Should Win: Can’t comment. I’ve only seen one. Where was The Past?!
Will Win: The Great Beauty.

Makeup & Hairstyling
Dallas Buyers Club; Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa; The Lone Ranger
Should Win: I mean, really. Bad Grandpa SHOULD win. It actually does have the most extravagant makeup.
Will Win: The Academy is never going to award Jackass for anything, despite Bad Grandpa being the best choice. It’s like when The Iron Lady won. Dallas Buyers Club will take it. The Academy eats this shit up.

Original Score
The Book Thief; Gravity; Her; Philomena; Saving Mr. Banks
Should Win: None of these score actually stood out to me, to be honest. If I had to pick one, maybe Philomena? Her?
Will Win: Despite the fact that I don’t even remember the score, Gravity apparently has this one.

Original Song
“Happy” Despicable Me 2; “Let It Go” Frozen; “The Moon Song” Her; “Ordinary Love” Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
Should Win: LET IT GO.
Will Win: LET IT GO.

Production Design
American Hustle; Gravity; The Great Gatsby; Her; 12 Years a Slave
Should Win: The Great Gatsby is beautiful. I don’t think it’s unique when compared to Baz Luhrmann’s other work, but yes, it’s pretty. I did appreciate Her‘s simplicity though.
Will Win: The Great Gatsby.

Sound Editing
All Is Lost; Captain Phillips; Gravity; The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug; Lone Survivor
Should Win: Gravity. The sound is pretty awesome.
Will Win: Gravity.

Sound Mixing
Captain Phillips; Gravity; The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug; Inside Llewyn Davis; Lone Survivor
Should Win: Gravity.
Will Win: Gravity.

Visual Effects
Gravity; The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug; Iron Man 3; The Lone Ranger; Star Trek Into Darkness
Should Win: My least favorite category. This is always my worst, because, well, look at the nominations. But, Gravity.
Will Win: Gravity. This will be the biggest upset if it loses. They had to literally create this whole film.

 

 

Leave a Reply

